Northwestern vs. Michigan Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
intl2015

New

Northwestern vs. Michigan

Post by intl2015 » Sat May 23, 2015 2:30 pm

Hi everyone! I have two really great offers on the table, and I'm having a bit of a hard time deciding.

My choices:
- Michigan, $135k scholarship.
- Northwestern, $165k scholarship.

A bit about me:

I am an international student with a business background and some W/E. I am mostly interested in Biglaw. My preferred markets are probably NYC or Chicago, but I would love to work in an international office of a US law firm at some point, either on a permanent basis or temporarily (for example, in London/Frankfurt).

Visa (to stay in the US) is a non-issue for me.

Financing:
My SO will be moving with me and we expect that her earnings will cover most of the living expenses. My relatives are willing to help us out and can give/lend us the money to cover the difference between tuition and the scholarship at Michigan and help with living expenses for the first couple of months.

I am a bit concerned about Michigan's relatively lackluster biglaw numbers post-recession. Can it mostly be attributed to self-selection into PI? Would I need a higher GPA at Mich compared to NU to have a good chance at Biglaw?

I'd appreciate your input!

POTUSorSCOTUS

Bronze

Re: Northwestern vs. Michigan

Post by POTUSorSCOTUS » Sat May 23, 2015 2:32 pm

Easy, NU.

MadwomanintheAttic

Bronze

Post by MadwomanintheAttic » Sat May 23, 2015 2:41 pm

I think NU is the definite winner here, especially given Chicago is one of your desired markets.

BillClinton Jr

Bronze

Post by BillClinton Jr » Sat May 23, 2015 3:59 pm

MadwomanintheAttic wrote:I think NU is the definite winner here, especially given Chicago is one of your desired markets.
+1

DaftAndDirect

Bronze

Post by DaftAndDirect » Sat May 23, 2015 4:03 pm