Terrible mistake?? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Txflier22

New

Terrible mistake??

Post by Txflier22 » Mon May 18, 2015 8:42 pm

I graduated a few years back with a poly sci degree. I haven't done much since. Working at a law firm right now, I enjoy it and could see my self doing it in the future but it's definitely not exciting or anything. Took the lsat twice, 163 is my highest. GPA is a 3.2. I got into SMU with a half scholarship. I won't have debt because my parents are covering the rest. I feel like I don't really have any other career options. I can see myself being a lawyer. Like I said I've been working at a firm for a few months and it's okay but I don't have a passion or anything for law. My parents are about to spend a bunch of money on SMU and I'm not 100% sure is even be happy. I'm from Texas and want to work in Dallas. I want to work at a law firm, which ever size, I assume it'd be a small firm since only about 20% get big law, which I would do but am not expecting. My parents aren't millionaires or anythkng but can afford SMU. I guess should I be going if I don't really have an excitement about it and am just going in the hopes that i can land a decent (60k+) job. Half the class earned that much last year so it's not even a guarantee. This life business really sucks sometimes. I've though about doing a MA in middle eastern studies. I speak some arabic and have studied in the middle east but my Gpa is shitty so I probabaly wouldn't get into a good program and would probably end up with a shitty job. Wtf do I do.

usn26

Silver

Re: Terrible mistake??

Post by usn26 » Mon May 18, 2015 8:58 pm

Txflier22 wrote: Wtf do I do.
What do you, ya know, actually want to do?

If the immediate answer is not law, consider following that instinct.

wonka

Bronze

Post removed.

Post by wonka » Tue May 19, 2015 3:43 pm

Post removed.
Last edited by wonka on Tue Sep 29, 2015 1:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Hand

Gold