University of Colorado vs. George Washington vs. Georgetown

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
kelly_jo5

University of Colorado vs. George Washington vs. Georgetown

Postby kelly_jo5 » Sat May 02, 2015 2:18 pm

Hello there. I am hoping to get some advice on selecting a school.

I am a veteran and will be using the GI bill and Yellow Ribbon Program to fund my education. Here are the current options:

1. University of Colorado -
Because this is a public institution the GI bill will fund all three years completely as well as provide a living stipend. The pull for this school is because my long term (2+ years) boyfriend currently has some family issues that are requiring him to head back to this area for the next few years. He would be working full time and we would be able to split bills, etc so in this situation I do not envision needing to acquire any debt. Also the greatly added benefit of not having to do a long distance relationship.

2. George Washington University -
Although a private institution, they have offered me a 2/3rds scholarship and the remaining portion would be covered using the GI bill. The pull for this school is the higher ranking (does this really even matter??) and the location. Years ago when I decided on law school, I always envisioned studying in DC. Due to cost of living and not sharing expenses with my boyfriend I would incur a small amount of debt (30K-45K by graduation).

3. Georgetown University -
I have been waitlisted for Georgetown so this may not even be an option, however, I am supposed to have an answer by 11MAY. Even with the GI bill and the Yellow Ribbon Program, I would require loans to pay tuition. I envision accruing 100K by the end of the three years if I attend here.