Duke ($$) v. Berkeley (sticker) Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
rivervalley

New

Duke ($$) v. Berkeley (sticker)

Post by rivervalley » Tue Apr 28, 2015 7:28 pm

Long time creeper finally posting...

-The schools you are considering
Duke: with 80k scholarship
Berkeley: 0 scholarship

Michigan also offered me 90k, but Ann Arbor does not really appeal to me and the weather is also a huge deterrent.
WL: UVA, Penn, Columbia, NYU - not particularly interested in waiting on any waitlists.

-The total Cost of Attendance (COA) of each. COA = cost of tuition + fees + books + cost of living (COL) + accumulated interest - scholarships.
Duke: 85k
Berkeley: 165k
(Above is only tuition. I assume COL will be less at Duke too.)

-How you will be financing your COA, i.e. loans, family, or savings
Family saving. I am very fortunate in that my parents are able to fund my entire law school education. I am an international student so I am not able to apply for need-based aid, scholarships, grants etc. I would have to apply for private loans if necessary. My parents already paid for my undergrad education, for which I am very grateful and is another reason why I am seriously considering Duke.

-Where you are from and where you want to work, and other places where you have significant ties (if any)
I am Canadian but grew up outside North America, and my family still lives abroad. I currently live in New York and work as a paralegal at a top Biglaw firm and ideally would like to return. I think I have a decent chance of being hired at my firm (they re-hire many of their paralegals as associates, and I think I have done a good enough job).
I went to undergrad in the northeast. I have strong ties to my friends from college who now live in New York.

-Your general career goals
I would like to work in big-law in NY for at least a few years. Not sure about after.

-Your LSAT/GPA numbers
169/3.79

-How many times you have taken the LSAT
3. (163, 162, 1st and second)