Fordham (PT and $) vs Cardozo (FT and $$$) and NOT BIGLAW

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
bwb18

Fordham (PT and $) vs Cardozo (FT and $$$) and NOT BIGLAW

Postby bwb18 » Wed Apr 22, 2015 10:48 am

I'm interested in getting feedback for choosing between Fordham's part time program and Cardozo's full time program given my situation. I know the question between the two schools has been beaten to death on the TLS forums, but I feel like my situation is somewhat unique.

My background is a BS and MS in EE from a top 10 engineering school, with a 3.65 UGPA and 3.0 graduate GPA. My LSAT was a 159 (I know I underperformed). I got my MS EE working part time while working full time at a University Affiliated Research Institution as a Research Engineer. I was there approximately 2 years.

I now work as a Patent Examiner at the USPTO, and have 3 years of experience there.

If I continue working full-time, I can potentially get my tuition reimbursed my the USPTO. The funding appears to be there for my first year. The 2nd-4th years are a gamble, but still possible. If funding goes away, I'd have to take on loans. Alternatively, Cardozo has offered me pretty much a full scholarship, with stipulations of being in the top 80%. If I went this route, I'd still work part time with the PTO (maybe 8-16 hours a week) to help offset the cost of living in NYC. I also have a significant other who is working and would be taking on more of the financial burden in that regard.

My goals are NOT BigLaw. I would either want to stay at the USPTO, explore other options with the federal government, or maybe go in house as IP counsel. Staying at the USPTO seems the most likely due to the ability to be able to move frequently, as I can telework full time and my SO's job could potentially move him around all over the US.