At what point does LRAP make monopoly money out of Debt Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
littletophat

New

At what point does LRAP make monopoly money out of Debt

Post by littletophat » Fri Apr 17, 2015 1:54 pm

Another NYU vs. Columbia question, but with a twist.

Background: I want to stay in NYC and I want to do PI. Seriously. Not a "oh I want to save starving babies but I guess I could do biglaw as a back up if that's what has to happen" sort of person. More of a "I've been working in public service for over 7 years and I want to work anti-discrimination/civil rights law in NYC (not counting on DOJ Honors, but if it happens hello DC)" sort of person.

I'm going to be in debt, and I'm going to be riding the LRAP forgiveness train all the way.

Consensus seems to be that NYU is the better choice for PI, but from my research and talking to folks I get the idea that Columbia is underappreciated in this regard and as long as you are serious about your commitment to PI, you can do well for yourself at Columbia.

And here's the kicker: Columbia's LRAP surprisingly better than NYU's in a couple of ways.

1) Columbia gives the option of keeping LRAP separate from IBR/PSLF so they'll pay the full standard 10 year repayment amount (on salaries under $50K, required contribution of 34.5% of income over threshold). This is good on the tiny chance that 5-7 years down the line all of the universe aligns and lands me in a unicorn, holy-crap-this-is-a-well-paying PI job that is not PSLF eligible. that would make the negative amortization of IBR a pain in the rear. NYU offers a one-time make-it-up payment if this happens, but it's less good than Columbia's program.

2) Columbia's IBR-based income threshold before you have to contribute is $100K (required contribution of 34.5% of income over limit) while NYU's is $80K (required contribution of 40% of income over limit).