Michigan vs. UCLA vs. USC

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

School Choice

Michigan
42%
UCLA
12%
USC
23%
Other
No votes
Reapply/Retake and Reapply
23%

Total votes: 26

AlohaFriday

Michigan vs. UCLA vs. USC

Postby AlohaFriday » Wed Apr 15, 2015 1:41 pm

As deadlines approach, I am trying to decide where I should deposit. I have been accepted at Michigan, UCLA, USC, and Georgetown. I am awaiting decisions from Stanford, Columbia, and NYU. Wait listed at Harvard, Penn, and Duke. Rejected at Yale and Boalt. I did not apply to any other schools.

Scholarships/COA:
Michigan: $75,000 total; $142,284 COA
UCLA: $105,500 total; $118,484.98 COA (Will gain CA residency after 1L)
USC: $159,000 total, $92,469 COA
Georgetown: Yet to receive offer

I will be financing my education through loans.

I am from Hawaii, but I am currently an undergraduate in CA. I'd like to work in CA if possible. Not opposed to other markets, but CA is a preference. I would say my ties in the area are average.

I am hopeful for biglaw. Not entirely set on biglaw but definitely private practice. No interest in PI.

LSAT: 168; GPA: 3.9 (URM)

Took LSAT once after 6 months of classes. Was PTing in a wide range of 163-169 range about 1.5 months out. First LSAT was 157 or 159, can't remember.

I'd appreciate any input!
Last edited by AlohaFriday on Wed Apr 15, 2015 2:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

KMart

Re: Michigan vs. UCLA vs. USC

Postby KMart » Wed Apr 15, 2015 1:47 pm

Your GPA will be loved by Boalt. Retake, get Boalt/Stanford, enjoy CA.

ILoveYou

Postby ILoveYou » Wed Apr 15, 2015 2:07 pm

KMart wrote:Your GPA will be loved by Boalt. Retake, get Boalt/Stanford, enjoy CA.

With your goals, as a URM, I think this is TCR. Seems like wasting that GPA to take one of these offers when a reasonable LSAT increase would get you such better options in CA.

BigZuck

Postby BigZuck » Wed Apr 15, 2015 2:15 pm