W&M v. Vanderbilt v. Fordham v. USC

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Long Island Law

W&M v. Vanderbilt v. Fordham v. USC

Postby Long Island Law » Wed Apr 15, 2015 11:08 am

I'm a prospective Law School student from Long Island hoping to work in a law firm in New York City or Boston post-graduation.

Undergrad GPA: 3.55
LSAT: 172 [only took once]

William & Marry is offering $29,000 [Cost of attendance = $30,000 per year]
Vanderbilt is offering $15,000 [Cost of attendance = $50,000 per year]
Fordham is offering $40,000 [Cost of attendance = $15,000 per year]
USC is offering $30,000 [Cost of attendance = $40,000 - $50,000 per year]
UCLA is offering $30,000 [Cost of attendance = $40,000 - $50,000 per year]
Boston College is offering $25,000 [Cost of attendance = $41,000 per year]

The prospect of the amount of debt some of these schools would require me to take on is very intimidating, so I'm looking for some advice. Is the much higher price at a school like Vanderbilt, with a much better national reputation, worth it? My parents are able to help me with about $15,000 per year worth of spending, but after that I would have to take on the debt myself. That is why Fordham is such an appealing school to me, because I would be able to leave without any kind of crippling debt.

As I briefly mentioned above, I would like to work in a corporate firm in New York City (or maybe Boston?), and I have interned with one large firm for the last four summers so I think I might have an "in" there. I will be interning there again this summer, so I am doing my best to keep up my connections for when I hopefully earn my J.D. Any advice for how to achieve this goal would be greatly appreciated.
Last edited by Long Island Law on Wed Apr 15, 2015 11:27 am, edited 2 times in total.

Winston1984

Re: W&M v. Vanderbilt v. Fordham v. USC

Postby Winston1984 » Wed Apr 15, 2015 11:17 am