Importance of Location vs Rank after T14 ???

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Rosy12

Importance of Location vs Rank after T14 ???

Postby Rosy12 » Tue Apr 14, 2015 1:08 pm

I'm deciding between University of Colorado and Lewis and Clark. My question is how important is location vs rank after the T20 or so schools?? I want to practice in Oregon and only Oregon (Would be ok with Washington though)

I have offers from higher ranked schools but graduating without debt is the most important factor for me. GOALS- My dream job would be environmental prosecution at the federal level although I would also love to be a prosecutor for the DA's office or practice environmental law at a small-medium sized firm. I'm not interested in big-law unless it magically fell into my lap or if I graduated with insane amount of debt.

COSTS- Total cost for absolutely everything for 3 years would be $70,000-$75,000 for Lewis and Clark and $120,000 for Colorado, although I'm waiting to hear back on my request for more scholarship. I am not a trust fund baby and will be paying for everything on my own. I will have between $15-$20,000 saved up by the time law school starts so I will be able to pay for some of the schooling right away.

Does it make sense to go all the way to Colorado if I want to practice in Oregon? I have above-average strength ties to Oregon as I did undergrad there and most of my friends and family members live there, but I wonder whether it would be pointless to take an extra $50,000 out in loans and go all the way to Colorado if my end goal is to stay in Oregon. Obviously Colorado is higher ranked and has better job employment stats, but does all that really matter if I want to practice in Oregon where L&C has a good reputation?

UnicornHunter

Re: Importance of Location vs Rank after T14 ???

Postby UnicornHunter » Tue Apr 14, 2015 1:12 pm

To answer narrowly, it would definitely be pointless for you to go to Colorado.

commandercup