Duke Vandy UofMN

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Where to?

- Duke @ 60k scholly
48%
-UCLA @ 75k
No votes
- Vandy @ 100k
17%
- U of MN @ Full tuition
35%

Total votes: 23

will0302

Duke Vandy UofMN

Postby will0302 » Tue Apr 07, 2015 1:49 am

The schools you are considering
- Duke @ 60k scholly
-UCLA @ 75k
- Vandy @ 100k
- U of MN @ Full tuition

I'm pretty debt-averse. I'm okay with taking out some more loans for l I shudder at the idea of graduating 200K in debt)
I'm from Minnesota and have a decent network here. I feel pretty confident that if I graduated from the U of MN i'd have a job waiting for me. Ive been here my whole life though and wouldn't mind a change. I know it'll be a lot harder to leave if I get that U of MN JD. Big law sounds nice but I feel i'd be okay with something in the midlaw range, or maybe a government job.

I really don't like the idea of re-take/re-applying although I will admit that I applied very late in the cycle and that probably had an impact on my outcomes.

Discuss!

xiao_long

Re: Duke Vandy UofMN

Postby xiao_long » Tue Apr 07, 2015 2:38 am

Even with the scholarships, Vandy and UCLA will run you 120k and 150k, respectively. Duke will be over 170k. With that kind of a debt level, Big law will likely be necessary and Duke will give you the best shot of getting it. Also, should you wish to return to MN, Duke will have the best brand recognition among the others. Unless you're thinking about possibly settling in LA, Duke will provide the best overall portability.