NYU vs UW vs L&C

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
amateur_hour

NYU vs UW vs L&C

Postby amateur_hour » Fri Apr 03, 2015 1:24 pm

Like everyone else on this forum, I'm trying to decide what law schools to attend.

I graduated a year ago from Oregon State university with a 3.5 GPA in Mechanical Engineering and Business (two degrees) and I've been working as a software developer (still in Oregon).

I got a 172 on the LSAT.

Currently I've been accepted into Lewis and Clark, the University of Washington, and NYU. I have a scholarship offer of 30k a year from L&C (roughly 2/3 of tuition), and haven't gotten the mailings from UW or NYU (so I don't know how much financial aid they're offering). EDIT: apparently hubris is under-appreciated around here. I am suitably chastened. (edited to remove probably over-optimistic projections regarding class rank) I won't be getting any help from family for this, so I'm dependent on financial aid/loans.

I want to work in the Pacific NW when I'm done with school, either going the clerkship->judicial or intellectual property career paths. I'm not picky about midsize/biglaw, but if I have significant loans to pay off, then I'm pretty sure that I have to go biglaw.

Are there any suggestions/insights that you folks might have for me?
Last edited by amateur_hour on Fri Apr 03, 2015 1:36 pm, edited 2 times in total.

umichman

Re: NYU vs UW vs L&C

Postby umichman » Fri Apr 03, 2015 1:28 pm

amateur_hour wrote:
Currently I've been accepted into Lewis and Clark, the University of Washington, and NYU. I have a scholarship offer of 30k a year from L&C (roughly 2/3 of tuition), and haven't gotten the mailings from UW or NYU (so I don't know how much financial aid they're offering). I'm reasonably confident that I would be in the top 10% of my class at L&C, top 15 % at UW and top 20% at NYU, if that makes a difference.