Michigan vs. NU

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
rej

Michigan vs. NU

Postby rej » Thu Apr 02, 2015 4:04 pm

Deciding between Michigan and NU, would greatly appreciate the advice.

The biggest factor to me is which school will best help me achieve my career goals*. I'm going to try for biglaw, or maybe boutique. Though it's hard to say as a 0L, I believe I'd like to go into IP (I'm an engineer), or perhaps corporate law (finance background as well, though I know this helps less). I also have international interests, though to a lesser extent. If it's relevant I can provide details on that. Yeah, pretty varied, I know.
Geographically speaking, I'm fairly open. I'd be more than happy in Chicago/DC/NYC, but I know Cali's important for IP so I suppose there's that to consider as well. Er, hope that doesn't make me sound flippant, but I honestly believe there are many places I could settle in long-term and be happy.

I know I'm painting a best-picture scenario here and that only the top X% will have these options available, so should my sole concern be picking the school where X is largest?
They're ranked very similarly, so I've looked into biglaw placement and seen that NU has an edge. Michigan claims that this is solely because of local Chicago placement and that nationally they do better. Thoughts?
And if there IS a difference, is it significant enough to base a decision off of, or should I be considering intangibles?