Columbia(?) v. NYU($) v. Berkeley(?)

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
calbear15

Columbia(?) v. NYU($) v. Berkeley(?)

Postby calbear15 » Wed Apr 01, 2015 9:26 pm

Hi Everyone,

Waited a pretty long time to be able to make one of these as I've been on TLS since I was a young naive college freshman but now I can finally post as a young naive college senior :)

CLS, NYU, Berk
-Total COA of each: CLS: $257,265 (sticker - they haven't given out non-named scholarships yet, but I have a feeling sticker or very close to sticker); NYU: $188,666 (after $62.5k scholarship); Berkeley: $212,571 (in-state sticker - still need to wait and see if Berkeley will match but I heard you're less than likely to get a match, so I'm assuming sticker).

-How you will be financing your COA, i.e. loans, family, or savings
Fortunately, my parents and brothers will be covering my law school costs, although we're not rich by any means, so $ is still a big consideration for me.

-Your general career goals
This isn't set in stone but for now, big law -> in-house somewhere at a company in the bay area after a few years. Does Columbia keep anymore doors open than Berk or NYU would if I ever decided to change my mind?

-Where you are from and where you want to work, and other places where you have significant ties (if any)