GW vs. UMD

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Marylander25

GW vs. UMD

Postby Marylander25 » Wed Apr 01, 2015 2:53 pm

Back again after some soul searching.

Currently choosing between:

GW: $180k COA (still negotiating)
Maryland: $80k COA (tuition virtually free)
Neither includes contributions of family and SO, which could cut costs by as much as half at either school.

Would like to ultimately practice environmental law in the Chesapeake Bay watershed, ideally at a midsize firm or a smaller practice group in a large firm. I'd prefer to end up in DC still but also love Baltimore. Willing to pursue a higher salary at a larger firm doing other work initially if it will improve my options later on. I have a master's degree and some work experience in environmental policy (water quality, working waterfronts, and energy) in DC, including professional connections at a few large firms. I've spent the last six years in the DC area, but also have significant family ties in Baltimore.

3.64/165 first time

buckiguy_sucks

Post removed.

Postby buckiguy_sucks » Wed Apr 01, 2015 2:58 pm

Post removed.
Last edited by buckiguy_sucks on Tue Sep 29, 2015 9:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

Marylander25

Re: GW vs. UMD

Postby Marylander25 » Wed Apr 01, 2015 3:06 pm

buckiguy_sucks wrote:Obligatory retake and go to GW for much cheaper or GULC for cheap

Also how do family/spouse cut each in half? In one instance that's 40k and in the other that's 90k, pretty extreme difference.

Definitely not GW at that price (unless you want to be a politician) not sure what Maryland is worth with those goals