SLU vs. Case Western

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
PhantomBMAN

SLU vs. Case Western

Postby PhantomBMAN » Tue Mar 31, 2015 1:20 pm

Hi there everybody!

I've been reading these forums for a while but recently decided to make an account. I wanted to hear peoples' thoughts on the merits of going to Case Western vs. SLU.

So a brief story of my status:

I'm a UC Santa Cruz grad who had a GPA of 3.35 (dropped because I was doing neurosci my first two years - planned on med school - but switched to psych/law my last two), and I got an LSAT of 155. While I'm fairly sure I could get a 160+ if I had more time and opportunity to study for it, and knowing how adamant many people are about retaking the LSAT here if the score is low, that's not in my cards right now.

I got accepted to SLU and Case, with SLU offering me a half-tuition scholarship, and Case offering none (but it's currently being reconsidered by them). My main passion is Healthcare law (combining my passion for medicine with my better skills in the legal realm), and so SLU has always been a good choice for me in my opinion.

I realize specialty rankings mean little, particularly in most discussions on these forums. Having said that, I've heard the Case Western is going through an administrative shift, that the students happen to be fair more conservative (I would say I'm a moderate-liberal sort), and their employment stats aren't all that better than SLU. Also their winters are completely shoddy, even more so than in St. Louis.

SLU on the other hand has a more sociable student network, their staff seem more personable, and I feel like they would likely be the school to better prepare me to be the kind of lawyer I want to be.