stanford v mich (intl student interested in public intst) Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
lordgower

New

stanford v mich (intl student interested in public intst)

Post by lordgower » Mon Mar 30, 2015 10:53 pm

hey guys! i've looked around but not really found a satisfactory answer, so i'm asking it here. i've been offered 26k/year at stanford; 20k/year at nyu, and waiting on columbia (can't see it being any different or more, though). i've been offered 40k/year at michigan, and obs the coa at michigan is so much lesser than at stanford or anywhere in new york, making the possible debt in attending michigan less than 90k, especially if my parents pay some of it.

i'm really, really not into being controlled by debt, and i'm an international student, so it'll have to be private loans. i really also am not interested in biglaw, corporate law, or anything other than labour/sexual assault/social justice/public interest law, and i don't want to be coerced by debt into making choices to enter fields i wouldn't chose otherwise. i'm also just a very relaxed, noncompetitive person, a little terrified of law school stress, and not really into cutthroat atmospheres with big money prospects blah blah. basically, i kind of just want to get a good job in a field i believe in that'll let me live comfortably and live a life outside of studying and a job.

THAT SAID. i'm a little sand dragon and the weather of cali, as well as the whole idea of california, appeals tremendously to me, and for a number of personal reasons i would love to move there and might be a bit depressed somewhere like michigan. i'm also not going to deny that the prestige of stanford is tremendously appealing to me, and the loan repayment assistance program is also tempting. my family is also pressuring me a lot to do stanford, and might cover more of the costs if i chose that, though i don't want to put that sort of financial burden on them.

what do people think?

Mack.Hambleton