WUSTL ($) v. SLU ($$) v. Mizzou ($$$)

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Zadleez

WUSTL ($) v. SLU ($$) v. Mizzou ($$$)

Postby Zadleez » Fri Mar 27, 2015 10:12 pm

I am considering WashU, SLU, and Mizzou.

LSAT: 160
GPA: 3.93 w/majors in Political Science and Economics at Mizzou

My scholarships are WashU- 15k per year (Tuition is about 50k per year)
SLU- 31k per year (Tuition is about 39k per year)
Mizzou- Full ride

I am from St. Louis and have lived there all my life until I left for Mizzou where I am currently an undergrad. If I go to SLU or WashU I can live with my parents who will basically pay for all of my cost of living. So the cost of attendance is basically the tuition for both of the St. Louis schools.

Cost of Attendance WashU- 35k per year
SLU- 8k per year
Mizzou- 10k per year
I will finance this all with federal loans.

As far as my preferred job location, St. Louis would be slightly preferable, and initially I will try to target jobs there. However, if the opportunity arises to have a great job somewhere else I will definitely take it. I would like to be in big law, but at this point I don't think my preference towards big law is large enough to justify spending 100k extra at WashU. I've been thinking most about corporate law since I'm getting a degree in economics and so anything dealing with money generally interests me. On the other hand, I don't want to lock into a specific type of law right now because there may be some future legal experiences that may shape my career goals.

I've only taken the LSAT once. I have thought about taking it again, but I would really rather not do that. The hassle of taking the LSAT, and the fact that there is no guarantee that I would get a higher score scares me a little.