Is Santa Clara Worth it for IP Law? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
dolphinsareevil

New

Is Santa Clara Worth it for IP Law?

Post by dolphinsareevil » Fri Mar 13, 2015 5:22 am

Hey guys, I'm from the Santa Clara area and applied to only California schools. I've always heard Santa Clara Law has a great IP program and since I want to practice in this area, it was one of my top choices.

I got in yesterday with a substantial scholarship (maybe even full price if I play my cards right), BUT the scholarship will be renewed yearly ONLY if I'm top 15% of my class. I'm trying to get through law school with a minimal loan so this is a big deal for me.

Looking at the rankings though, SCU sucks. it barely even makes the top 100. I need advice from someone in the area who knows whether a J.D. from SCU is worth it.

Also, I have an undergrad degree in Finance so if I want I can just go the finance route and get a CFA.

Thoughts? NEED HELP ASAP

antiworldly

Bronze

Re: Is Santa Clara Worth it for IP Law?

Post by antiworldly » Fri Mar 13, 2015 8:17 am

Here's my two cents, 0L so take it for what it's worth.

First, why IP? You said you've got a degree in finance which is not patent bar eligible, which restricts you to IP litigation. You're still at a significant disadvantage there compared to applicants who are patent bar eligible. I'm not saying you can't do it, but you're starting at a significant disadvantage.