UW ($) vs ND ($$) vs GW sticker

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
heyarnold

UW ($) vs ND ($$) vs GW sticker

Postby heyarnold » Thu Mar 12, 2015 7:16 pm

So I have been accepted to ND with 60k total in scholarship and UW (have yet to receive their scholarship offer, but I'm thinking it will be similar). My parents are paying for school, but I want to decrease their load as much as possible while making a practical decision for job opportunities.

I'm an east coaster who has some nyc/dc ties, but has never been to the midwest/west coast. I have a master's in Asian Studies from a well known school that sends a lot of people to fedGov and I'm fluent in Chinese with some experience abroad. A biglaw 2L SA ---> job is ideal. BigFed (like a gs-11 gig at the department of state or DOE upon graduation) is more ideal.

I'm attracted to UW because there is a huge Asian culture in Seattle, and UW has a really top-notch Asia Law Center / concentration. I feel like the courses, the city, and the vibe at UW and seattle would fit me really well. It's just that the school dropped a bit in the rankings, is very regional, and doesn't have the prestige that ND has. I'd much rather be stuck in Seattle than in the midwest for 3 years/long term. They just got a pretty big annual endowment for this year and are set up to give more scholly out than years past... so I'm really hoping that they'll come close to matching the ND offer since it's ranked slightly higher.