TLS Advice

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
rokiv

TLS Advice

Postby rokiv » Mon Mar 09, 2015 5:56 pm

Looking for some help deciding between my options. Currently have a 3.45/166. I recently started studying for a retake (my third time) in June and I am currently PTing around 170, hoping I can get that higher. I did not prep effectively for the test before, I know I'm a dumbass.

I am 1 year out of undergrad, so not by any means afraid to sit out another year but would like to start LS as soon as possible.

Goals are not ridiculously ambitious. I am definitely interested in big law (Chicago, NYC, DC) and bigfed. However, I would be fine ending up in a regional mid law fir or DA in my home state. Also have some experience working as a hill staffer and intern so would be interested in returning as a LA.

I am from AZ and will be financing primarily through student loans.

Options:

ND ($$$)- total COA (all 3 years) would be 100-125k
GWU($$)- total COA 160-190k
ASU($$$$)- total COA <40k

Also on the priority waitlist at GULC and reserve at Cornell. Extremely interested in both, but would probably be at close to sticker.

Thanks for any help/insight

Tiago Splitter

Re: TLS Advice

Postby Tiago Splitter » Mon Mar 09, 2015 6:05 pm

rokiv wrote:Goals are not ridiculously ambitious. I am definitely interested in big law (Chicago, NYC, DC) and bigfed. However, I would be fine ending up in a regional mid law fir or DA in my home state.

If you were, you wouldn't be interested in big law. So let's correctly assume you'll be shooting for big law, and at the very least disappointed with other outcomes.

I lived in AZ before I went to law school. I had almost identical stats (3.49/166). I wanted biglaw, and thought I could go to a school like the ones you're in at, study super hard and finish at the top of the class. Eventually I realized that's not how this works. I retook for T-14 and things worked out.