Emory vs UGA vs W&M

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Marylander25

Emory vs UGA vs W&M

Postby Marylander25 » Mon Mar 02, 2015 2:02 pm

Choosing between:

Emory: $111k total COA
William & Mary: $98k total COA
Georgia: $75k total COA

Good scholarships from each, although I plan on negotiating once I see if I get in anywhere else. Paying the rest with an even split of loans and family support.

From Maryland, obviously, with professional ties in DC and a network in Baltimore. Would be fine with returning to DC/MD, but open to most places in the southeast or mid-Atlantic. I'm looking to go into environmental law (I have a master's in environmental policy), but I have an open mind about practice area. Ideally looking to end up at a boutique firm specializing in environmental law.

Still waiting on some T14 responses but doubt I'll get money if I even get in. Also in at GW at sticker, but not seriously considering.

Pragmatic Gun

Re: Emory vs UGA vs W&M

Postby Pragmatic Gun » Mon Mar 02, 2015 2:15 pm

W&M is your best bet with your ties.

KMart

Postby KMart » Mon Mar 02, 2015 2:21 pm

Pragmatic Gun wrote:W&M is your best bet

+1.

buckiguy_sucks

Postby buckiguy_sucks » Mon Mar 02, 2015 2:24 pm

Last edited by buckiguy_sucks on Tue Sep 29, 2015 3:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Marylander25

Postby Marylander25 » Mon Mar 02, 2015 2:36 pm

buckiguy_sucks wrote:No money at GW seems odd to me given your COA numbers at Emory and W&M

Yeah I don't know what their deal is. Emory is giving me $102k scholarship but then nothing from GW. Not sure if it's just in the wings or what. Given size, employment prospects, and cost, I think I'd take Emory over GW even with a comparable offer.

buckiguy_sucks

Postby buckiguy_sucks » Mon Mar 02, 2015 2:52 pm

Last edited by buckiguy_sucks on Tue Sep 29, 2015 3:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

thebobs1987

Postby thebobs1987 » Mon Mar 02, 2015 4:09 pm

imKMart wrote:
Pragmatic Gun wrote:W&M is your best bet

+1.