Hamilton VS Harvard

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
EDCBA

Hamilton VS Harvard

Postby EDCBA » Sat Feb 14, 2015 11:18 am

I've been actively reading past posts on the forum re: choosing between Hamilton and H/Y/S, but decided that it would be better to explain my interests and ask for advice.

I'm currently trying to decide between Columbia's Hamilton and HLS. I have yet to hear back from Yale or Stanford.

I have several years of experience in public interest, and a couple of years of experience in corporate. I'm interested in both corporate and public interest law after graduation - more specifically, I am thinking of doing 5 to 10 years of corporate (whether this is law firm and/or in-house) and then transitioning to public interest afterwards. To clarify, I'm not interested in government work (I won't qualify anyways as an international), and am more interested in transitioning out to NGO/ international agency.

As I will be financing for law school myself, the full tuition at CLS is very, very attractive. I've confirmed that Hamilton is not contingent on maintaining certain GPA, so I will likely be keeping the full ride for all three years. My parents will be retiring soon and my significant other does not earn much $$$, so I'm on my own for paying for law school. At the same time, however, I will likely qualify for quite a bit of financial aid at HLS. At either CLS or HLS, I'm planning to work term-time as a research assistant or some other position for some time during my 2L and 3L years to reduce my loans.

For corporate law, I've heard that both CLS and HLS are great, and for public interest, I've heard that it's HLS >> CLS in terms of resources and alumni. On the other hand, choosing Hamilton would mean I could save $$$ while working in corporate law for when I transition out to public interest law.