Help me decide between Alabama and W&M

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
ermatherma

Help me decide between Alabama and W&M

Postby ermatherma » Thu Feb 05, 2015 12:39 pm

Hi All,

I am a recent college graduate and am looking to begin law school this fall. My LSAC GPA is 3.63 and LSAT scores are 160 and 163. I would prefer not to take the LSAT again, but am foremost looking for some realistic advice. I am still waiting on a few decisions, but thus far my best options are the University of Alabama and William & Mary. I am a Virginia resident (in-state tuition is about $30,000) and received a $12,000 annual scholarship from W&M. However, I attended college in the state of Alabama and so would be considered in-state there as well (according to the admissions office.) In-state tuition there is about $21,000. I have not received any scholarship money from the school thus far. Based on my research, it seems the COA would be very similar for these schools. W&M is ranked 24 and Alabama is ranked 23. I am interested in practicing in Atlanta after graduation. It seems that both schools have a fairly good reputation in the south.

Do you all have any advice you would give me when making this decision? I have also applied to Emory but have not received a decision yet. If I am admitted to Emory do you think I should take the offer over these schools because of its location in Atlanta?

Thank you in advance for the help!

Aftermath

Re: Help me decide between Alabama and W&M

Postby Aftermath » Thu Feb 05, 2015 12:48 pm

Why not UGA?

BigZuck

Postby BigZuck » Thu Feb 05, 2015 12:54 pm

Go to W&M if you want to work at a small firm/local government job in Virginia

Go to Alabama if you want to work at a small firm/local government job in Alabama

If you want to work at a small firm/local government job in Georgia, go to a school in Georgia

Don't go to any of them if it isn't cheap (I'd say about 50-60K, tops)

ticklemesilly