UF Law v. CU Law

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
KillingIt10

UF Law v. CU Law

Postby KillingIt10 » Fri Jan 30, 2015 10:18 pm

I am in the process of deciding between these two schools. I have been accepted to CU and anticipate being accepted to UF (hopefully).

Based on my scores I won't get into any of the top 20 schools. Save the cynical comments. I am very interested in becoming an attorney and would like to practice criminal law.

I have lived in both Florida and Colorado in the past few years. I am relatively familiar with both states. I believe that both of these schools are similar in that they are the best law school in their respective regional markets. I am aware that UF competes with FSU - Tallahassee does not interest me.

Cost:

I am a FL resident. CU will cost me approx. $30k more than UF. All CU students get residency after 1L.

I get that both schools place primarily in-state for jobs. I am very happy with that. I love the outdoors and like the weather in both states. I would be happy living in either Florida or Colorado.

Questions:

1. Job Placement - Do either of these schools place particularly better for criminal law? Law Firms, DOJ, Clerkships, State Attorney, Public Defender. I get that FL is a much larger state than CO. Is this a substantial advantage or does all the competition from other schools make it equal?

2. Intern/Externships - How do both schools place for summer and year-round positions? Gainesville is more remote than Boulder/Denver. Does this make finding a position difficult - or do UF students just move during the summer.