I didn't like UF undergrad. Will I like UVA Law?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
sdgdg35

I didn't like UF undergrad. Will I like UVA Law?

Postby sdgdg35 » Sun Jan 25, 2015 8:34 pm

I am an undergraduate student at UF about to graduate. As a whole, I do not look back fondly on my experiences at UF. While I did well academically, I felt very socially isolated throughout a great portion of my undergraduate career.
For the first two years I was extremely focused on academics, internships, and school clubs that I didn't really take the time to date or make a ton of friends.

By the time I got to my third year, I realized a huge division in the student body, those in Greek life and those who are not. I realized how much easier it was for those who were Greek to be social, to date, and and to get involved on campus. My social group is pretty nerdy and just likes to sit at home and watch movies and play video games. I've basically spent the last two years regretting not rushing a fraternity.

To this day, I've done my best to get involved, but I always felt like something was missing. I am also from a "northern" family (New York area that moved to South Florida), so I don't really assimilate well with the culture of Gainesville.

I got into UVA Law and am ecstatic. It is definitely the best law school I've been accepted to, and I feel compelled to attend. I'm just a little weary of repeating my undergraduate experience. I know UVA is also a southern school largely dominated by Greek life. Will my non-Greek experiences at UF make my social life more difficult?

I am extremely excited to go on my journey to become a lawyer and meet a whole bunch of like-minded people. Will I be able to do so easily at UVA Law?

(I also got into Georgetown Law and am wondering if that could potentially be a better option... in terms of job placement, class size, and ranking, I am definitely leaning towards UVA.)

chuckbass