I want to work in Nashville

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
howsthecow

I want to work in Nashville

Postby howsthecow » Fri Jan 09, 2015 10:46 am

I have offers from Alabama, UGA, and UTK. Still waiting to hear back from Vandy, Emory, and GW. I'm a TN resident and go to UTK undergrad.

Alabama offered 21K, so I would pay ~15K
Georgia gave me an in-state equalizer, and they will make merit scholarship offers in February
UTK offered 10K, so I would pay ~4K
If I get into Vandy or Emory, it will probably be sticker.

Where should I try to go if I want to shoot for a 1L SA at a Nashville firm? I interned at Bradley the past two summers, and I'm going to return this year if they let me. They stressed 1L grades more than anything, but how much does ranking matter?

Rigo

Re: I want to work in Nashville

Postby Rigo » Fri Jan 09, 2015 11:32 am

Don't pay sticker.
Barring a retake, UTK seems like the right choice to me.
However, if you truly have a 164 then you should negotiate with UTK and get that scholarship bumped up to full tuition since you're well over their 75th percentile LSAT. Also, make sure to get any stipulations for scholarship retention removed or reduced.

howsthecow

Postby howsthecow » Fri Jan 09, 2015 11:45 am

Dirigo wrote:Barring a retake, UTK seems like the right choice to me.

Do you say that because of placement statistics? I really don't want to get stuck in East TN.

Dirigo wrote:However, if you truly have a 164 then you should negotiate with UTK and get that scholarship bumped up to full tuition since you're well over their 75th percentile LSAT. Also, make sure to get any stipulations for scholarship retention removed or reduced.

How does one go about doing this?

Pumpkin-Duke of Pie

Postby Pumpkin-Duke of Pie » Fri Jan 09, 2015 12:12 pm