UT instate tuition vs GW $50k Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
yungboitron

New

UT instate tuition vs GW $50k

Post by yungboitron » Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:29 pm

Hey y'all, first time poster, long time lurker.

I was all set to go to GW, paid my deposits, signed an apt lease and filed for loans, but yesterday got an email saying I was "one of a very select few" who UT is extending offers to now.

As I'm a Texas resident, I would be able to attend for $33k, as compared to around $36k for GW (including my scholarship). I think it's also worth mentioning that DC is a more expensive area in general.
Texas is ranked 15th, but as both aren't T-14 schools, what's the difference between 15 and 20? Is it worth bailing on my plans to attend? I asked GW if they could give me more scholarship money but they said they had already depleted their funds.
I went to UT for undergrad and was born in Austin, so the positive thing on GW's side of the T-chart is essentially "life experience, personal sentiments, etc."

what do y'all think? UT said I have 48 hours to decide.

edit:
165/3.75, took it twice
took out 60k in loans, parents will help me out as well
career goals: get a good job, preferably in environmental/international, though to be honest I'm not entirely sure what field I want to practice in yet.
Last edited by yungboitron on Wed Jul 30, 2014 10:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

KD35

Silver

Re: UT instate tuition vs GW $50k

Post by KD35 » Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:38 pm

Where do you want to practice after law school?

jr8966

New

Post by jr8966 » Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:46 pm

I went through the same decision you're about to make 3 years ago. Some things to consider-

GW's scholarship stipulations. I received one as well 105K, but I could not for the love of god get them to take off the stipulations. That was a deal breaker for me. Law school is already risky in this current economic environment, why add more risk?