To defer or not to defer Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Pancakes12

Bronze

To defer or not to defer

Post by Pancakes12 » Wed Mar 26, 2014 9:22 pm

I have to make up my mind by May 1st if I'm going to defer HLS for two years. I am a recent graduate now working in an industry that I believe will be looked upon favorably during law school hiring. My biggest concern is the debt. I will have some savings and expect to get some need-based aid. I will have about 20k left in federal student loans from undergrad in two years' time. Also, it maybe shouldn't be a consideration, but I want that Harvard prestige and it's a dream to go to Harvard.

Should I:

a) Defer HLS two years.
b) Apply to schools in two years and take a big scholarship.

-The schools you are considering: HLS. No use considering deferrals at others schools since you can't keep any scholarship you recieve.
-How you will be financing your COA: It will be financed entirely through savings and loans. If I defer two years, I expect to have about 25k saved. I expect to get some need-based aid (not sure how much--my parents have a combined income of about 70k)
-Where you are from and where you want to work: I'd like to end up in BigLaw on the east coast. I'd also take BigLaw in Pittsburgh but I'm not sure if I could afford it with the debt.
-Your general career goals: BigLaw --> Fed Clerkship --> Biglaw --> ?
-Your LSAT/GPA numbers: Above HLS's 75ths.
-How many times you have taken the LSAT: once

Winston1984

Gold

Re: To defer or not to defer

Post by Winston1984 » Wed Mar 26, 2014 10:43 pm

If you are above Harvard's 75ths, then you have a shot at Ruby/Hamilton. I would definitely take one of those instead with a goal for biglaw. You won't care about the prestige when you get to see all of your check, while your coworkers have $2000+ of theirs going to loan repayment every month.

PrideandGlory1776

Bronze

Post by PrideandGlory1776 » Wed Mar 26, 2014 10:56 pm