Full time to Part time

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Domke

Full time to Part time

Postby Domke » Fri Feb 14, 2014 2:24 pm

The last time I posted I was convinced I either needed to retake or not go to law school. I looked hard at the numbers and the argument made sense. Graduating 150k in debt and making 75k is a bad financial decision. But recently I came up with an idea and want to know what people here think.

I could do law school full time the first year taking out 30k in loans. After that I could work part time and go to school part time paying my own living expenses and most of my tuition without taking out any more loans. I am a nurse and there are plenty of people I work with making 50k a year from part time work. This means I could graduate with only 30k in debt.

According to my scholarship info the amount I am awarded is based on full time and will be adjusted to cover the same amount if I change to part time.

Is there any reason I shouldn't do this? The absolute worst case scenario I go back to nursing and pay off my loan in 5 years.

BTW The school I am basing this on is Lewis and Clark in Portland.

twenty

Re: Full time to Part time

Postby twenty » Fri Feb 14, 2014 2:39 pm

Why do law school full time the first year? If you were going to do this, just commit to a four-year track and work full time for 80k+/yr.

BigZuck

Postby BigZuck » Fri Feb 14, 2014 3:00 pm

30K debt but how much are you paying out of pocket?

Lewis and Clark really isn't a very good school in terms of job placement. I would be surprised if more than 10% of the class is making 75K, but I haven't done as much digging as you undoubtedly have so please correct me if I'm wrong. What percentage of the class is making that kind of money?

What are you trying to do with your JD?

Postby 052220151 » Fri Feb 14, 2014 3:30 pm