Made mistakes this cycle, how should I proceed? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
scootsy

New

Made mistakes this cycle, how should I proceed?

Post by scootsy » Mon Feb 03, 2014 6:34 pm

I have really messed up this cycle.

To begin, I never considered attending law school until about a year ago when I decided to pursue it full bore and take the LSAT. Being relatively late into the game (only considering law school 8 or so months before I sent off my apps), there are a lot of things I never considered. For one, LSDAS GPA does calculate GPA the same way that my university does, and it is .6 lower than I originally thought.

I have been a terrible student, mostly because I've been lazy and immature and only recently started taking school seriously until recently. Law School is going to be difficult for me, but I know I can perform much better than my history shows.

That said, I'm not a good candidate. I thought I was 164/3.1, but I am actually 164/2.45 because of all the classes I've failed and retaken. I do have excellent softs, and my LSAT is above the median for all my reach schools, but after learning my LSAC GPA, those schools are most likely not a real possibility.

Additionally, due to scheduling that was outside of my control, I cannot take a necessary class to graduate until the fall and therefore submitted my applications a cycle too early.

So I have really bungled this cycle up. I've only applied to reach schools as it was, which was a naïve mistake, so it is likely that I will simply be rejected from all of them. If one does somehow accept me, how do I go about asking for a deferral for a year, since it is not a guarantee that a school this good would accept me during the next cycle?

And if a deferral isn't possible, which schools are my best option moving forwards considering cost and future opportunities?