Pepperdine Student Climate-- lgbt friendly?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
nubaroque

Pepperdine Student Climate-- lgbt friendly?

Postby nubaroque » Wed Jan 01, 2014 12:19 am

Can anyone comment on the social climate at Pepperdine? I am a gay potential law student and really would not enjoy three years of studying at an institution that isn't accepting of lgbtq folks. I realize Pepperdine is a Christian school, but I have read several reports that state that the school is fairly liberal for being a religious private school (kind of has to be due to its location, I guess). I was just wondering if any current students or other prospective students have any information about this. I am not very openly gay to acquaintances, but I'm not ashamed and won't lie about it to anyone who asks...I just don't want to sign onto spending three years at a school where I'll potentially be ostracized.

mr. wednesday

Re: Pepperdine Student Climate-- lgbt friendly?

Postby mr. wednesday » Wed Jan 01, 2014 12:26 am

You might want to be more concerned about the less than a coin flip chance at even becoming a lawyer: http://www.lstscorereports.com/?school= ... show=chars

But you could go to almost any other school in CA besides Pepperdine and have it be more tolerant. Save yourself the trouble and go to a school that 1) gives you a realistic shot of ever using your degree and 2) isn't affiliated with a religion that is largely intolerant of you.

nubaroque

Postby nubaroque » Wed Jan 01, 2014 1:10 am

It's not the religion that's intolerant, it's the people. And this isn't the place for that discussion.

Postby 20141023 » Wed Jan 01, 2014 7:11 am

Last edited by 20141023 on Sun Feb 15, 2015 9:34 pm, edited 2 times in total.

bjsesq
TLS Poet Laureate

Postby bjsesq » Wed Jan 01, 2014 7:13 am

kappycaft1 wrote:what do you think has propagated anti-gay sentiment throughout society for hundreds of years if not religion?