Am I Crazy to Be Considering Law School? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
francisurquhart

New

Am I Crazy to Be Considering Law School?

Post by francisurquhart » Mon Dec 23, 2013 11:28 pm

Here's the basic situation:

I'm thirty. I'm Canadian. I have a job for a major corporation that pays well. Combined with outside income (I'm also an author), I'm on track to make six figures in either 2014 or, at the latest, 2015. I live in Vancouver where I own a recently-purchased home with not a lot of equity in it.

I had an LSAT score from a couple of years ago (2011) at 163. I went in and wrote the test, more or less, cold (I'd bought one LSAT prep book and done a few practice tests at some point prior to that). I went back to finish my BA (I needed three classes) this year, so I figured - "what the Hell" and I bought an LSAC account and applied to a few places that gave me fee waivers.

Then I got the call from Kansas - they'd let me in with a 100% tuition scholarship (but with a 3.0 stipulation to maintain).

Now I've also gotten a letter from Willamette (and a call) - 100% tuition scholarship without any stipulations.

So, here's the basic trade-off. If I stay where I am (and perhaps go to school locally), in three years I can probably have roughly $150,000 in assets, an MBA, and an income in the $100,000 range... But, in many ways a job that doesn't go to the core of what I really want to do (ultimately, more than anything else, I want to run for office, preferably in the United States). There's a pretty good chance that, if I stay doing what I am, I'll probably own two homes by 2016.

Alternatively, in three years I can have debts in the $40,000(ish) range, no guaranteed job, but have a JD (and soon thereafter become a lawyer).