Is law school still a possibility for me?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
jmcdaniel15

Is law school still a possibility for me?

Postby jmcdaniel15 » Mon Dec 02, 2013 4:42 pm

I'm currently a freshman at a community college and want to go to law school to be a JAG officer in the Marine Corps. The fall semester is coming to a close and so far I failed a remedial math course with an XF and took it again, but have to withdraw before I failed it again. I'm transferring to a state university or any college that'll take me (I preety much blew it with any other school.) And I was wondering what law schools are in my reach since I already blew it with top tier law schools?

john1990

Re: Is law school still a possibility for me?

Postby john1990 » Mon Dec 02, 2013 4:48 pm

What is your GPA including f's? A w wont hurt you for Law School. Without knowing your LSAT score I can't help much though

midwest17

Postby midwest17 » Mon Dec 02, 2013 4:49 pm

One failed class won't keep you out of any schools, except possibly the *very* top ones, and even then a strong GPA and a strong LSAT will make them overlook it. Do whatever you need to do to get good grades, don't graduate until you have a good overall GPA (counting classes from all schools, not just the one you graduate from), and study for the LSAT properly.

jmcdaniel15

Postby jmcdaniel15 » Mon Dec 02, 2013 4:49 pm

I haven't took the LSAT yet.

jmcdaniel15

Postby jmcdaniel15 » Mon Dec 02, 2013 4:53 pm

@midwest17 sojust because I had one bad semester there's still a possiblity for me?

john1990

Postby john1990 » Mon Dec 02, 2013 4:54 pm

jmcdaniel15 wrote:@midwest17 sojust because I had one bad semester there's still a possiblity for me?

Its to early to tell if there is a possibility for you

hcrimson2014

Postby hcrimson2014 » Mon Dec 02, 2013 5:13 pm

jmcdaniel15 wrote:@midwest17 sojust because I had one bad semester there's still a possiblity for me?