UVA sticker vs. Alabama full scholarship

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
andygreen12

UVA sticker vs. Alabama full scholarship

Postby andygreen12 » Fri Aug 09, 2013 4:36 pm

I have to decide by the weekend if I want to go to Virginia, but be in about $200,000 debt, or go to Alabama and get a full tuition scholarship. I live in west Virginia, so I am pretty close to UVA. I am not sure what type of law I want to get into, but I have a chemistry degree and could get into intellectual property or work in a government agency. I have a 3.9 gpa with an LSAT of 163. Please do not say retake, I studied for about 3 hours a day for over 6 months and took a class and this is the best I can do. I cannot study more than I did, this score is my maximum (my SAT's were a 2000, around 90% as well, so I think this is my limit). Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated as I am having a hard time deciding what to do. This is a very big decision and I want to make sure its not a decision that I end up regretting later.

Thank you guys!

WokeUpInACar

Re: UVA sticker vs. Alabama full scholarship

Postby WokeUpInACar » Fri Aug 09, 2013 4:39 pm

You should really retake, but don't go to Alabama unless you're cool with working in that region for a very long time.

loomstate

Postby loomstate » Fri Aug 09, 2013 4:40 pm

definitely retake, a 5-6 point increase can change your circumstances dramatically.

hephaestus

Postby hephaestus » Fri Aug 09, 2013 4:41 pm

Retake. If you really won't for whatever reason, do UVA.

Lavitz

Postby Lavitz » Fri Aug 09, 2013 4:56 pm

Do you want to work in Alabama? --> Alabama.
Do you want to work the sort of job that would enable you to pay off $200K in debt --> UVA.
Can you afford to take a year off and retake for the chance of obtaining such a job but with less debt? --> reapply/retake.

Ti Malice

Postby Ti Malice » Fri Aug 09, 2013 5:03 pm