Consulting -> MBA or Law School?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Lost_Dreams

Consulting -> MBA or Law School?

Postby Lost_Dreams » Thu Aug 01, 2013 11:23 pm

Hi everyone.

Last time I was on this site, I asked if going to a T-14 law school (lower T14) at sticker price was good move on my part, giving up my job as a tech consultant.

Background info: I work as a technology consultant at a big consulting shop. (think Accenture, Deloitte, IBM, etc) I just got promoted and make good money (85k a year), hours not too bad (45-50 hours a week on average), coworkers pretty chill, etc, but I just don't like my current job, nor the career as a technology consultant.

The thing is, I just don't have much interest in technology and it pains me to think about all the technology-related ideas, issues, and all that crap on daily basis, as required for a tech consulting role.

I keep day dreaming about going back to school - either a top law school or top MBA and starting a complete new career, as a corporate lawyer, I-banker, business strategy consultant, etc.

I had gotten into UVA law, Cornell law, and G-town law at sticker prices this cycle but decided to drop law school thing for now and re-evaluate my options, due to financial reasons. However, after hard soul-searching last couple of months, I've firmly decided that I will either attend a top law school or top MBA in near future.

In this economy, which option makes more sense, given my personal background? One concern I have with MBA is that the employment outcomes after a top MBA is even harder to predict/ volatile than that of a top law school. I talked to several folks at top tier MBA programs and they all told me that past few years have been absolutely brutal for people trying to get IB or high finance jobs and apparently a lot of folks at top MBA schools go back to their pre-MBA jobs.. which is terrible given the level of investment/ opportunity costs involved in attending a B-school.