Transfer Decision! (AU/UMD) - need decision ASAP!!

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Lovelife26

Transfer Decision! (AU/UMD) - need decision ASAP!!

Postby Lovelife26 » Thu Jul 25, 2013 1:34 pm

I am a student at American (#56), and am contemplating transferring to University of Maryland (#41). UMD will be in-state for me; however, I would like to practice in D.C. after. I can’t decide whether transferring is the right decision for me and I need to make a decision ASAP!!!

Other factors: UMD will be cheaper by about $10K; Fall internship in D.C. which I am thinking about commuting to if I transfer.
Any UMD students want to weigh in on whether they find having/getting an internship harder due to being in Baltimore?
Also, is the difference in ranking significant enough to make a difference when applying for jobs in the future?

Please help!! Thanks so much!!

jingosaur

Re: Transfer Decision! (AU/UMD) - need decision ASAP!!

Postby jingosaur » Thu Jul 25, 2013 1:50 pm

I hate to break it to you, but American University is not the #56 law school in the nation. Less than 40% of its grads get a full-time, JD required job within 9 months of graduation. Sounds more like a Tier 3/Tier 4 to me.

http://www.lstscorereports.com/?school= ... n&show=ABA
http://www.lstscorereports.com/?school= ... d&show=ABA

Maryland places a little more than half of their students in full-time JD required jobs with 9 months of graduation so on the surface, 10k a year off looks like the best decision financially. However there are 2 more things that you need to consider:

1. Transfers are second-class students. They had a 1L at a different school and their 1L year doesn't match up to competitors at OCI. I've heard a lot of stories of people transfering from T2s and T3s to T14s and then not getting a good job because they looked like damaged goods at OCI. Transfering from American to Maryland may not be as bad though since they're not as far apart.