Columbia vs. UVA

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
skinnylinny33

Columbia vs. UVA

Postby skinnylinny33 » Sun Jul 21, 2013 11:09 pm

Hi all,
I am a transfer student trying to decide between Columbia and UVA. I want to practice corporate/securities law in Boston or NYC for the best firm that will hire me. I definitely like the culture and location of UVA more -- I like the laid back, fratty atmosphere and its small-town location. Charlottesville is beautiful and has a much lower cost of living. I am questioning its network and reach to the NYC or Boston markets, however (I know these are good, just not as good as CLS).

On the other hand, I think that CLS will give me an advantage in my career aspirations-- better access to top law firms and networks in NYC. While I want to end up in NYC or Boston eventually, paying to live in the city during school would definitely add to the debt a bit. I am not too worried about that though, because I feel the marginal difference won't be enough to have that significant of an effect over my lifetime. CLS will also be about $10k more in tuition.

I am having the hardest time deciding (and my deadline is approaching), so any help would be much appreciated. So, UVA or CLS?

Tom Joad

Re: Columbia vs. UVA

Postby Tom Joad » Sun Jul 21, 2013 11:10 pm

You will be paying full cost if you are a transfer, right?

Then go to Columbia. It is a little bit better school.

skinnylinny33

Postby skinnylinny33 » Sun Jul 21, 2013 11:13 pm

Yes, full cost for both schools

Motivator9

Postby Motivator9 » Sun Jul 21, 2013 11:28 pm

Easy, Columbia!

jbagelboy

Postby jbagelboy » Sun Jul 21, 2013 11:44 pm

I think Columbia is the easy pick here, but thats just my opinion and the employment data

Clearly

Postby Clearly » Sun Jul 21, 2013 11:48 pm