Penn ($) vs NYU

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

penn vs nyu

penn COA-175k
58%
NYU COA- 210k
42%

Total votes: 36

happyshapy

Penn ($) vs NYU

Postby happyshapy » Tue Jul 02, 2013 5:18 pm

So I just got into NYU off the waitlist and now I can't make up my mind.

Penn gave 30k total in need-based aid. Parents are helping a bit with COL (everything except rent). I'm assuming NYU will give me nothing since they want both of my parents info on need access instead of just the custodial parent.

I would rather live in NYC since most of my friends live there, I have roommate options, and the possibility of commuting from home (15 min train ride to grand central). I'm also leaning more towards PI but wouldn't mind big law. My background is a little PI focused but doesn't scream it. End goals are working in NYC or northeast area, but also having the small possibility of coming back to Colorado where I currently live. I like how Penn doesn't rank or have GPAs and has a smaller class size.

What would you guys do?

senorhosh

Re: Penn ($) vs NYU

Postby senorhosh » Tue Jul 02, 2013 5:29 pm

-You're leaning towards PI. NYU blows Penn out of the water for PI. I doubt that 30k will matter if you are on LRAP.
-Biglaw- It's difficult to say with confidence which school is better (though personally I think Penn > NYU for biglaw). If you look at LST, NYU definitely has lower % in biglaw and fed clerkship; however, it doesn't account self selection into other areas. I'm not comfortable with not knowing how much of PI was self selection or legitimate so I personally would take Penn for biglaw.

I'd say it's a toss up, but I personally would take Penn because I'm biglaw or bust. If you put PI into the mix, I'm not so sure.

Btw: Not sure why but based on the posts here, NYU seems extra stingy this year. Don't count on money

sinfiery

Postby sinfiery » Tue Jul 02, 2013 5:34 pm