UCLA ($$) v NU (Sticker)

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
citmon

UCLA ($$) v NU (Sticker)

Postby citmon » Tue Jun 18, 2013 8:26 pm

I think there are five million threads like this one so I figure I'd join the crowd.

UCLA: $20,000/year scholarship with in-state tuition and I'd be able to live at home, so the total COA without interest is roughly $90k.

Northwestern: Full sticker, so COA is roughly $250,000

I am a super splitter (well below 25th GPA everywhere), so no retakes are possible for me. The goal will be biglaw in IP litigation (I have a biology undergrad degree), although I would be able to take the patent bar for IP prosecution if no lit jobs pop up.

I HIGHLY prefer staying in California. I've spent 3 years in NY, and I hated every winter. I could deal with going to school in Chicago, but I'd want to get back asap. I might be able to deal with a DC job but that's pushing it.

My gut tells me that NU offers more job prospects, but at the high COA and the fact that I'm not interested in the Chicago/NY markets means that UCLA is a pretty good choice. I'm just worried about the 70% of people who don't get biglaw at UCLA.

nebula666

Re: UCLA ($$) v NU (Sticker)

Postby nebula666 » Tue Jun 18, 2013 9:06 pm

NU isn't worth $160k more than UCLA. Also, Chicago is colder than New York.

PRgradBYU

Postby PRgradBYU » Tue Jun 18, 2013 9:09 pm

citmon wrote:I think there are five million threads like this one so I figure I'd join the crowd.

UCLA: $20,000/year scholarship with in-state tuition and I'd be able to live at home, so the total COA without interest is roughly $90k.

Northwestern: Full sticker, so COA is roughly $250,000

I am a super splitter (well below 25th GPA everywhere), so no retakes are possible for me. The goal will be biglaw in IP litigation (I have a biology undergrad degree), although I would be able to take the patent bar for IP prosecution if no lit jobs pop up.