Michigan ($) or Berkeley?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
J_stack

Michigan ($) or Berkeley?

Postby J_stack » Wed Jun 05, 2013 12:40 pm

I'm deposited at Michigan with a scholarship of 12k/year, but got in off the waitlist at Berkeley this morning. I'm a California resident, and my goal is to end up in the Bay Area after law school. Thanks to savings, I'd be in debt at about 60k out of Michigan and about 100k out of Berkeley due to the COL and lack of scholly. Berkeley mentioned in an email that they don't give out merit aid to waitlist applicants, so I don't think there's any point in trying with them. Considering my goals, I realize this is very much a judgement call based on debt aversion. Would the chance to go to Berkeley be worth the extra debt for you?

FloridaCoastalorbust

Re: Michigan ($) or Berkeley?

Postby FloridaCoastalorbust » Wed Jun 05, 2013 12:45 pm

J_stack wrote:I'm deposited at Michigan with a scholarship of 12k/year, but got in off the waitlist at Berkeley this morning. I'm a California resident, and my goal is to end up in the Bay Area after law school. Thanks to savings, I'd be in debt at about 60k out of Michigan and about 100k out of Berkeley due to the COL and lack of scholly. Berkeley mentioned in an email that they don't give out merit aid to waitlist applicants, so I don't think there's any point in trying with them. Considering my goals, I realize this is very much a judgement call based on debt aversion. Would the chance to go to Berkeley be worth the extra debt for you?

only you can determine whether, after identifying mich and berkeley's placement in the bay area, the additional 40k in debt is worth the increased placement berkeley offers in the bay area. it does for me, but for others it wouldn't. and of course there may be non-economic factors berkeley brings to the table for you (quality of life, etc.) and only you that influence that decision

jbagelboy

Postby jbagelboy » Wed Jun 05, 2013 12:46 pm