UMN $$$ vs. USC $

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
jessierocks

UMN $$$ vs. USC $

Postby jessierocks » Tue May 14, 2013 12:58 am

I am an international student who wants to enter biglaw after graduation if possible. Here I got a full ride at UMN and a $60k at USC. Which one should I choose? I heard that Asians cannot find a job after graduating from USC, is that true? If I go to UMN, I'll try to transfer to some better school later.

Really need your advice!

Golden Bear 11

Re: UMN $$$ vs. USC $

Postby Golden Bear 11 » Tue May 14, 2013 1:08 am

Where did you hear that from?

And no, don't go to a law school with the intent to transfer

valrath

Postby valrath » Tue May 14, 2013 1:09 am

Don't go to a school looking to transfer, it's not that easy. UMN is good if you don't mind practicing in Minnesota, especially with the reduced debt, but you most likely won't get biglaw from there. USC has a much higher biglaw placement, but you'll be take on a substantial amount of debt.

Depending on how much debt you're comfortable with, you may want to adjust your goals.

Dr. Dre

Postby Dr. Dre » Tue May 14, 2013 1:19 am

if you want biglaw, retake

jessierocks

Postby jessierocks » Tue May 14, 2013 1:22 am

Golden Bear 11 wrote:Where did you hear that from?

And no, don't go to a law school with the intent to transfer

An Asian graduate from USC and an Asian 1L at USC. You mean I will be disappointed if the transfer doesn't work out? Is USC really worth the debt?

jessierocks

Postby jessierocks » Tue May 14, 2013 1:23 am

valrath wrote:Don't go to a school looking to transfer, it's not that easy. UMN is good if you don't mind practicing in Minnesota, especially with the reduced debt, but you most likely won't get biglaw from there. USC has a much higher biglaw placement, but you'll be take on a substantial amount of debt.

Depending on how much debt you're comfortable with, you may want to adjust your goals.