Your Opinion on Law Schools

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
cavtrpr

Your Opinion on Law Schools

Postby cavtrpr » Tue May 07, 2013 9:58 pm

Good evening, I'm Brandon and I am currently an officer in the army scheduled to get out (and will be doing so) on 28FEB14. I've spent my career thus far longing about law school and pretty much have my heart set on it at this point. Here is a brief profile to orient yourself to my situation.

1. Having grown accustomed to moving, I am not all too concerned with relocating, even long distances to a law school (I'm currently in Tennessee).

2. Because I've lived in multiple states over the past 4 years, I'm basically screwed regarding the cheaper rates for residents.

3. I am not currently in debt in any form.

4. I still have the GI Bill, post 9-11 GI Bill at my disposal. It won't do much, but it will take care of living expenses.

5. My wife is a nurse so she can win that bread while I'm in school (contingent upon her getting a job, of course).

6. I have an 8 month old daughter.

7. I have $80,000 saved from my time in the army.

8. I'd like to have full-time employment requiring admission to the bar, after graduation. I'm not going to begin trying to answer which type of law I'd prefer to go into, as I realize things could change based on my exposure to different types while in school. However, if I had to speculate, I like the idea of criminal law, with the goal of one day being a judge. Let's cross that bridge later, though.

9. I like the idea of living in Florida.

10. I wouldn't object to going back to California.

11. After I'm out of the army, you wouldn't catch me dead in West Tennessee, I'd only live east of Knoxville.

12. I had an undergraduate GPA of 3.1.