Fordham ($$) vs. Cornell

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Fordham ($$) vs Cornell

Cornell ($100K debt)
75%
Fordham (debt free)
25%

Total votes: 61

grumpycat2012

Fordham ($$) vs. Cornell

Postby grumpycat2012 » Thu May 02, 2013 11:20 am

I am having a really hard time with this decision so I've finally decided to put it to the TLS forum. I've already sent in the initial deposit for both schools. Here are some details:

I graduated from undergrad in 2008 and have worked for the past three years at a public interest legal services organization. I am from Manhattan and looking to stay here after law school. While I ultimately want to work in public interest, I am not totally opposed to the idea of working in biglaw for a while to pay off loans/get training. That said, I am not sure how long I could sustain that lifestyle before needing to do something more fulfilling.

Fordham has offered me $15K/year. Because I have a decent amount of savings and could live with my parents, I could attend Fordham without taking out ANY loans. This is very appealing to me. As for the school itself, I liked it but I didnt love it. I didn't get the feeling that I was especially excited about going there, but the location would be extremely convenient.

Cornell has offered me NO merit aid, so even after using all my savings, I am still looking at about $100K in debt when I graduate. When I visited Cornell, I really loved it. Ithaca is beautiful and I loved Cornell's small class sizes. However, I am nervous to take on so much debt, particularly with the legal market being uncertain and my own uncertainties about biglaw.

So what do people think I should do? And before you say it-- no, I am not going to re-take. I already retook once and I am getting older (26 this fall). I am ready to go to law school now.

WokeUpInACar

Re: Fordham ($$) vs. Cornell

Postby WokeUpInACar » Thu May 02, 2013 11:25 am

You should retake for more scholarship money, but Fordham as is.