Please help: Notre Dame $$ vs U Minnesota $$$ vs GW

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
jing87

Please help: Notre Dame $$ vs U Minnesota $$$ vs GW

Postby jing87 » Mon Apr 29, 2013 11:55 am

I got full ride from U Minnesota and 25k per year scholly from Notre Dame. The COA is almost the same for these two cities, so it will cost about 60k to attend U Minnesota and 120k for Notre Dame (Assume the COA is 20k per year which is very reasonable for both cities)
I have no ties at neither of these two states. I am hoping could land a job at bigger cities like Chicago, Boston or NYC.
Most likely I will do IP law since I have a master at Electrical engineering already .
From what I read online, the big law placement for ND is a little better than UMN, especially if you want to work outside Minnesota. But I am not sure if it is worth to give up a full ride to attend another peer school just for 5% better big law chance.
So please give some advice for this, any advice, i already put my deposit down with UMN and need to get back to ND in 2 weeks.
Thanks for your help.

Update: I just got accepted by George Washington University, but they didn't offer me any scholarship. The admission office said I can ask them to reconsider my scholarship but I don't feel they are gonna offer me any big number.

So my question here is, would it be worth to give up UMN and ND for a GW sticker?
Last edited by jing87 on Mon Apr 29, 2013 3:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kyle010723

Re: Please help to choose: Notre Dame $$ vs U Minnesota $$$

Postby kyle010723 » Mon Apr 29, 2013 1:04 pm

Can you negotiate with ND to get more money? Also, I wouldn't go to non-T14 with BigLaw in mind. The fact is 90% chance you will not be the top 10% of you class. Being patbar eligible will give you a boost, but MSEE doesn't have that much of a leg up over BSEE (only in Bio do employer really care about advance degree, and by that I mean Ph.D).