Life Decision...need some help on this one

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

What should I do?

UVA ($59-$80k debt)
24%
Chicago ($78k-$105k debt)
41%
Duke/NU ($38k-$63k debt)
11%
Columbia ($130-$165k debt)
6%
Stay at current job and forget law school
19%

Total votes: 85

firstimer

Life Decision...need some help on this one

Postby firstimer » Thu Apr 25, 2013 9:33 am

Here's the deal...

Current situation: I work in finance / accounting at a large company in NYC making a great salary (little over $100k, though cost of living is pretty high as well). Boss is nice and I work 60-65 hours per week, but I definitely can't see myself doing this long-term, and job security is not good. I have a degree from a strong undergrad business school.

Interests: I've done a fair amount of research and I want to make the switch to a legal career. I believe I would most enjoy a career in public interest (legal aid, prosecution, JAG in particular), but would be fine working in biglaw / midlaw firms for a little bit to gain firm experience. If you asked me what my ideal career would be, it would be a judge. Would love to get a clerkship, but understand that these are extremely difficult (and no HYS for me).

Geographic Interest: From MD / PA originally and would like to live on the East Coast long-term, preferably not NYC region, Boston, or south of Atlanta.

Fallback plan: If I completely strike out everywhere, I could get a CPA by taking about 4-5 more classes on the side in law school (I come from an accounting background), and return to the accounting world. As I've said before, this might be naive of me (given that I'll have a three-year gap on my resume, though I imagine knowledge of tax law would have some benefit in certain accounting jobs). I also have more savings that I'm not using for law school as well as a healthy (for now) retirement account, so I won't be completely broke.