HELP! T15 conundrum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Where should I go?

Columbia (180K debt)
4%
Chicago (116K debt)
31%
NYU ($145K debt)
No votes
UVA (95K debt)
6%
Duke (66K debt)
28%
Cornell (32K debt)
20%
Texas (Free)
10%

Total votes: 99

difficultdecision

HELP! T15 conundrum

Postby difficultdecision » Wed Apr 17, 2013 8:10 pm

Hi all,
I feel grateful to have this complicated decision in front of me but I need some help figuring it out. I currently work in finance making a very good salary but have always had an interest in the law and want to make the move now. I'm not 100% sure what area of law I want to go into, but I'm fairly interested in tax/startup law, or a career in public interest. I'd also like to go to a school that has some opportunity to do a clerkship (though I understand these are very hard to get outside HYS). Additionally, I'm pretty certain that I don't want to work longer than 1-2 years in biglaw (I prefer smaller companies or public interest jobs), and ultimately want to end up in the mid-Atlantic area (anywhere from Pennsylvania to North Carolina) which is where I'm from.

What I'm really curious about is whether attending Duke or Cornell vs the other schools on the list is going to close any major doors for me in the future. I've heard a fair amount about how "prestige" of the law school matters in future career options, but I don't know if this actually true or just BS.

That being said, here are the choices (figures are net of scholarships and personal savings, and include cost of living):

Columbia (180K debt)
Pros: great job opportunities, NYC is great, most prestigious school I got into
Cons: high cost, supposedly stressful student life

Chicago (116K debt)
Pros: great job opportunities at a much cheaper price, great teaching, still fairly prestigious, good geographical reach, higher clerkship chances, big-city opportunities, good lrap and clinical opportunities