Michigan ($) v Georgetown ($) for the LRAP-bound

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Michigan, $180K debt (COA)
78%
Georgetown, $190K debt (COA)
22%

Total votes: 36

thatmanheisapoet

Postby thatmanheisapoet » Tue Apr 16, 2013 5:31 am

I can't decide. Both will essentially leave me with the same amount of debt, though Michigan will end up being about $10K cheaper after scholarships. Michigan has the superior LRAP and is the superior school. Yet GULC just feels right for me. I have a lot of work experience in government, have been told GULC matches my profile to a tee, and just see myself settling down in DC.

-I think I'll definitely want to end up in the public sector
-I don't want to sit out another year
-I'm kind of a reverse-splitter
-Ties do not play a factor at either place
-I will finance my education with only loans (and Christmas/birthday money of course)

My hunch is you guys will say Michigan. But what if Georgetown ups its offer. How much more is Michigan worth than Georgetown?

Thanks a lot, guys. First post here but browsing the LSAT section really helped me get my score up last year

stuckinthemiddle

Re: Michigan ($) v Georgetown ($) for the LRAP-bound

Postby stuckinthemiddle » Tue Apr 16, 2013 5:52 am

Chances at government are probably equivalent (maybe an edge to GULC). If they're the same price, go to whichever one you like more (aka GULC).

If you wanted biglaw, it would be a different story.

sinfiery

Postby sinfiery » Tue Apr 16, 2013 6:54 am

stuckinthemiddle wrote:Chances at government are probably equivalent (maybe an edge to GULC). If they're the same price, go to whichever one you like more (aka GULC).

If you wanted biglaw, it would be a different story.

hephaestus

Postby hephaestus » Tue Apr 16, 2013 8:31 am

How much does it each cost exactly?

WhatOurBodiesAreFor

Postby WhatOurBodiesAreFor » Tue Apr 16, 2013 9:51 am

ImNoScar wrote:How much does it each cost exactly?