Penn v. UVA??? Poll time!

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Penn or UVA?

Penn (COA ~ 40k)
74%
UVA (COA ~ 20k)
26%

Total votes: 78

Bob-Loblaw 1

Penn v. UVA??? Poll time!

Postby Bob-Loblaw 1 » Mon Apr 15, 2013 5:33 pm

Alright, so it has come down to this...a TLS poll.

A little about me:
Ideally I would like to do a clerkship and then biglaw.
However, it wouldn't be the end of the world if I had to forego the clerkship component.
I graduated form undergrad in LA, and I would absolutely love to come back and practice in Southern California for the long term.
CA biglaw > NY/DC biglaw > working at In-N-Out in CA living in a ditch
For the short term, I wouldn't be opposed to living in NY or DC for a few years.

The schools
I visited UVA and liked it a lot, however I am a little unsure about living in Charlottesville for three years, as I love cities.
I haven't visited Penn for LS, however I visited for undergrad admissions and loved it there.

The money
I have substantial scholarships at both schools, and my parents are helping me out with some of the expenses as well (thank you parents!). At the end of the day, Penn is going to wind up costing me about 10k-20k more than UVA including COL. However, neither option will set me back more than about 50k.

SO, are saving a little money, having a bit better quality of life/cheaper apartments, and marginally higher federal clerkship numbers enough to justify UVA over Penn?

Let the TLS gods decide...

twenty

Re: Penn v. UVA??? Poll time!

Postby twenty » Mon Apr 15, 2013 5:38 pm

It comes down to personal preference, but since you have no ties to DC or the south, I'd go with Penn and gun for NYC biglaw. Then, when you hate it, you can go back to California and work in some pseudo-law-related career.

Dmini7

Postby Dmini7 » Mon Apr 15, 2013 5:38 pm

Bob-Loblaw 1 wrote:Alright, so it has come down to this...a TLS poll.

A little about me:
Ideally I would like to do a clerkship and then biglaw.