Is this REASONABLE for UT?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Is UT reasonable for me at $130,975 COA?

Yes
80%
No, but if you could get your scholarship bumped up a bit, go to UT
No votes
No, go to another option or don't go
20%

Total votes: 15

shifty_eyed

Is this REASONABLE for UT?

Postby shifty_eyed » Mon Apr 15, 2013 1:57 pm

I am a Texas resident who wants to stay in TX and a splitter (i.e. retake won't help). Goal is gainful legal employment that will pay off debt.

The COA number in poll is using Georgetown calculator taking into account 12k/yr scholarship + 3k/yr grant and assuming a SLIGHTLY more frugal budget than listed (1.5k/yr less) but not savings/parental contribution (which will most likely be more than 1.5k/yr) or any future SA earnings. (FWIW, if I'm not in a position to get a 2L SA I would probably drop out after 1L unless I found a passion for PI or something.) I think this a very conservative estimate, but I don't want to delude myself into thinking it's not a likely outcome.

I am not convinced that I should take on this much debt, but I don't know if UT will negotiate with me yet.

Other options include WUSTL at a significant discount, Vandy at SLIGHTLY higher total COA, UH (would still be about 100k COA), and am waitlisted at Penn, Duke, and Virginia. I declined NU w/ 45k total scholarship. FWIW, I did not apply to SMU because I do not want to work in Dallas and with my GPA I would not be eligible for a full ride.

ManoftheHour

Re: Is this REASONABLE for UT?

Postby ManoftheHour » Mon Apr 15, 2013 1:59 pm

It's not awful, but it's not good. How much better is the WUSTL offer? I might go with that if it's significant.

shifty_eyed

Postby shifty_eyed » Mon Apr 15, 2013 2:04 pm

ManoftheHour wrote:It's not awful, but it's not good. How much better is the WUSTL offer? I might go with that if it's significant.