LS in the fall or try for better next cycle? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Should I go this year?

Yes
74%
No
26%

Total votes: 19

mh33

New

LS in the fall or try for better next cycle?

Post by mh33 » Thu Apr 11, 2013 3:35 pm

Hi TLS,

I am a senior in college right now, and I am planning on heading directly to law school at Boston College next year, so I wanted to get some input on my decision. Here's the info:

COST: 50% scholly. Very fortunately, my parents will be covering the rest of tuition, and I will be living at home and still on my parents health insurance etc, so law school will be free other than the opportunity cost. I have a government degree from a prestigious liberal arts school, and it has not yielded any promising job prospects, which is fine with me because I have been planning on law school since high school.

GOAL: 100+ firm in Boston

BACKGROUND: From Boston area and very intent on staying there. My dad has a busy solo practice working a lot of hours doing relatively simple work, so working with him and then taking over the shop is always there as a backup option. I have already begun networking for info interviews and the like and have found a lot of connections through family, friends, high school etc. who are partners/associates at major firms in Boston, FWIW.

STATS: 3.5/166 (Took LSAT once and only exceeded that score once on PTs.)

SO, would it be worth waiting a year to up my LSAT for T-14 to meet my goal of Boston Big Law?

Thanks,
MH

DoveBodyWash

Gold

Re: LS in the fall or try for better next cycle?

Post by DoveBodyWash » Thu Apr 11, 2013 4:22 pm

Strictly speaking, yes. Going to a T14 with Boston ties would open up other markets in addition to Boston.

(FWIW I'm also from Boston)